cinnamon cappuccino cookies

By Helena Thompson

June 24, 2009

Tags: ,

Category: sweet

16 Comments »

I admit that I have an unhealthy obsession with coffee.

As a college student, I depend on my sweet java rescue every morning in order to function. Merely SMELLING coffee will wake me up. But with all good things, there are some downsides:

1) It’s hot. In the summertime, hot coffee in the morning isn’t ideal, although I’ll drink it anyway.

2) It sometimes comes in cups without lids. I’m clumsy, so when things aren’t covered, they usually end up on my clothes.

Solution? Make it solid! These coffee-flavored cookies are covered with a sweet cinnamon-sugar blend right before baking, and come out with delightfully crispy edges and chewy centers – my favorite kind of cookie!

Cinnamon Cappuccino Cookies

1 cup butter (two sticks), softened
1 1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs
2 3/4 cups flour
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons powdered coffee

Preheat oven to 350°.

Cream together sugar, butter, and eggs in a large mixing bowl with an electric mixer until smooth. Add powdered coffee.

Combine remaining dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Add to butter mixture gradually. Chill resulting dough for 5 minutes.

Scoop out 1-inch balls of dough and roll them in cinnamon and sugar; place on chilled cookie sheets 2 inches apart. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until centers are set.

Yield: 2 1/2 dozen.

(This recipe was commissioned by the illustrious Joseph Spiros. I wish I could call these “ALL CAPS COOKIES,” but no one would really understand.)

16 Responses to “cinnamon cappuccino cookies”

  1. ADD TO FOODGAWKER

    This photo is great. This recipe looks delicious. Nomnom.

  2. HA!!! I find it so amusing I sit here drinking a hot cup of coffee and its already 88 before 7am here. I need to make these wonderful cookies!!! :)

  3. this sounds so good!

    by “powdered coffee” do you mean instant? or just a very fine grind?

    • Becky and Jenna –

      I purchased powdered instant coffee, but I’m sure that an interesting variant could definitely use finely ground coffee or espresso beans. That’d give these cookies a really wonderful texture!

  4. By “powdered coffee”, is that “instant coffee” or something else?

  5. These cookies sound fantastic! I’m bookmarking this now and can’t wait to try them.

  6. I too order hot coffee on hot summer days… and even dare to drink it outside while my body incinerates. I am definitely making these this weekend.

  7. [...] chose these cookies because I was mesmerized by their picture in this wonderful blog.  I am so glad I did, even though my photos don”t come close in terms of [...]

  8. Oh, these are a lot like Snickerdoodles but with coffee (and that little touch of brown sugar)! BRILLIANT! I can’t wait to make them!

  9. look delicious! would you mind if i might post this recipe on my blog with of course accrediation and links to you… this looks like it would make a good post after i make these

  10. [...] never could match up to the perfect Lauren cookie I had in mind. I even tried opting for the most complicated, wild, fancy cookie recipes I could find–which were tasty and all–but to no avail. [...]

  11. These cookies are awesome! I’m actually in the process of making them and the first batch just came out of the over a few minutes ago. They’re definitely great for coffee lovers and a tin of these would be a really great gift. Thanks for the recipe!

    oh P.S. I was also a little confused about “powdered coffee” and used regular instant coffee and they came out just fine.

  12. Oh my goodness! These cookies are BEAUTIFUL. Yum.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

