shrimp curry soup

By Helena Thompson

June 5, 2009

Tags: , , , ,

Category: savory

1 Comment »

I woke up STARVING this morning, and wasn’t really in the mood for leftover tortellini…so I raided the fridge and pantry to see what I could throw together. Turns out, we had everything I needed to cook up some soup!

This Thai-inspired shrimp curry concoction has a chicken stock and coconut milk base lightened up with some lime juice and that summer favorite, CILANTRO. What’s not to like? It’s great as a quick lunch, or even as an appetizer for dinner. Serve with a fruity white wine to combat the heat from the curry!

Shrimp Curry Soup

3 tablespoons olive oil
1 small to medium yellow onion, diced
1 stalk of celery, chopped
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
1 potato, diced into 1/4 inch cubes (I used a russet potato, since we had them lying around, but you should probably go for a red potato)
1 pound of shrimp, peeled and deveined
28 ounces of chicken stock (homemade stock is preferred, but you can use canned if it’s easier)
1 14 ounce can of coconut milk
juice from 2 limes
2 tablespoons red curry powder, plus more to taste
1 teaspoon ground ginger
crushed red pepper, freshly ground black pepper, and salt to taste
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro for garnish (totally optional if you’re not a cilantro fan – the soup’s still tasty without it!)

In a small stock pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat; add the onions, garlic, and celery. Cook until slightly soft, taking care not to burn the garlic.
Add the shrimp, mushrooms, curry and ginger, stirring to coat all ingredients. Add chicken broth, coconut milk, and crushed red pepper; bring to a simmer. Cook for 10 or so minutes until shrimp is pink and potatoes are cooked through.
Add salt and black pepper (if you’d like), then the lime juice, stir well. Simmer for 5 more minutes. Serve in bowls with a tablespoon or so of cilantro if desired.
Let me know if you like it! I’m going to keep the recipes coming for as long as I get new ideas. God, I love having free time.

p.s. SHAMELESS SELF-PROMOTION – click here to listen to my band, The Black River Belles. I can’t wait for our tour in January!

One Response to “shrimp curry soup”

  1. It’s funny, but with the right ingredients I also believe that soup is a great summer meal. It just has to be light and fresh (as this one is), and easy to put together. Even spicy is okay (I mean look at how people connect Mexican food to hot weather…or maybe it’s the cervezas!), as long as you don’t mind sweating a little!

    Anyway, I found you on TasteSpotting and am writing to say that if you have any photos that aren’t accepted there, I’d love to publish them. Visit my new site (below), it’s a lot of fun! I hope you will consider it.

    Best,
    Casey
    Editor
    http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

