garam masala cookies

By Helena Thompson

June 26, 2009

Tags: , ,

Category: sweet

7 Comments »

I’ve always been a sucker for Indian spices. When your house is filled with the wonderful aromas of cardamom, cumin, and clove, how can you NOT immediately begin salivating? I’ve heard rumors of a new Indian restaurant opening up in Oberlin with the East College Street project…I really hope that happens – my life might finally be complete.

These cookies are the result of an experiment with browned butter, brown sugar, and garam masala, an Indian spice blend that I thought would lend itself well to the other nutty, caramel-like flavors in the cookie. They end up tasting like peppery, slightly savory gingersnaps – I’m really happy with the results!

Garam Masala Cookies

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 heaping teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons garam masala
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, one softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs

Preheat oven to 375°.

Mix flour, baking soda, salt, garam masala, and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Set aside.

In a sauce pan, heat 1 stick of butter over medium high heat until completely melted. Keep cooking the butter until it turns a rich golden brown color and begins to take on a warm, nutty smell. This may take up to 6 or 7 minutes. Be careful not to burn your butter! Pour into a heat resistant bowl and set aside for 10-15 minutes.

In yet another bowl (sorry), mix brown sugar, granulated sugar, and softened stick of butter with an electric mixer, adding cooled browned butter gradually until completely combined. Add vanilla. Add eggs one at a time, blend until creamy. Slowly add flour mixture and mix, scraping the sides of the bowl to ensure even distribution throughout the dough.

Drop rounded teaspoons of dough on to an ungreased cookie sheet 2 inches apart and bake for 9-11 minutes or until edges turn slightly brown. Don’t overbake these cookies – they should look almost underdone when you take them out of the oven. Set on wire racks to cool for 5 minutes, then remove from cookie sheet to cool completely.

Yield: 3 dozen cookies.

Baker’s note: Hey! Kriti! I’d send these to you, but I’m afraid that the trip to California would ruin them. Sorry, dear. 😦

7 Responses to “garam masala cookies”

  1. I forgive you, but only this time 😛

    They sound so delicious! I should try them out sometime. Or maybe I should make chilli powder cookies.

  2. You can totally steal my idea. I DEMAND SOME, THOUGH!

  3. Wow, this sounds totally amazing! Could I make it without eggs? I bet it’s even better with homemade garam masala. See some pictures here, on my blog: http://mangosoup.blogspot.com/2009/08/making-spice-masalas-garam-masala.html

  4. I was surfing the internet for a cookie that included garam marsala and stumbled on your beautiful blog. Wow.

    You might also enjoy these cookies I made.
    http://muminbloom.blogspot.com/2010/02/recipe-coriander-seed-cookies.html

  5. thank you for this recipe. I wanted to make garam masala cookies and I looked at several recipies before picking this one. I liked the idea of browned butter. I found that the salt and BS amounts were too high. I ended up reducing it by 1/3 in order to get rid of the salty aftertaste. I also used vanilla sugar, and orange zest in place of the cinnamon. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

